1st CAS experience

On the first day of school, 17th August 2015, my class went on a trip so that we could get to know everyone.

We took a bus to this place up north, where we then climbed a mountain. It took about 1h30min to get to top, and the view was worth it. Being surrounded by mountains and all those shades of green was legen- wait for it -dary! (I’ve been watching a lot of HIMYM lately). The way down took less time, but we also had to walk a few kilometres to the spot where we’d stay the night.

DSC_0918 (2) DSC_0924 (2)DSC_0933 (2) DSC_0936 (2) DSC_0944 (2) DSC_0948

DSC_0974 (2)

The location was not what I had expected, we were literally in the middle of woods, there was water nearby but the vegetation made it difficult to swim in, and I don’t think anyone had brought any bathing suits.

After finding a not so flat spot, me, Maren and Solveig learned how to set up a tent. It took a while but mission accomplished.

DSC_0980

IMG_4230

Then it was dinner time, we were set up in groups of 6, and we had to prepare and cook our own food. Something I’ve never done in a forest before. After dinner, we learned a little about the IB Leaner Profile, and the teachers went around and discussed it with the students.

I went to sleep somewhat early and the small space in the tent was a bit claustrophobic. I woke up several times during the night, because I couldn’t get a comfortable position and because of the temperature; my upper body was too warm while my legs and feet were cold.

We got woken up at around 9 am, and although I was eager to come home, I wanted to keep laying for a little longer. Anyway, we got up and dressed and then went to the spot we had dinner the previous night, to have breakfast. After that, we got our things ready and waited for the bus.

IMG_4232

Back at school, we disposed of the garbage, washed all the cooking utensils and put up the tents to dry. Then, we were free to go home.

Overall, it was a good trip. And I had a good time, despite my anxieties.

Check-list:

Not being the last to get to the top of the mountain.

Learning how to set up a tent.

Peeing in the woods.

Being bitten by mosquitoes.

Wearing shorts. 

Bathing in a lake. X

Sitting around a fire eating marshmallows watching someone play the guitar and everyone else attempting to sing. X

Getting to know my classmates I didn’t know from last year. X

Taking a few good pictures. 

1 comment
  1. Sissel Paulsen Sundeng said:

    Great With a blog for CAS Bruna. 🙂 Good that you have overcome some of Your anxieties during this trip – Can you point out why this is CAS ?

Leave a Reply

